top of page
  • Writer's pictureDimension TLC

Left Eye’s Final Chat: The Dear Lie Video “Sucked,” My Secret Enemy, Reincarnation, & More!

Updated: Nov 23, 2018

Official Lycos Live Chat With Left Eye October 2001

Events_Moderator: Howdy, folks! For those of you just joining us, tonight we are chatting with Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes from TLC. She’s just released her first solo CD, Supernova. Get your questions ready. We’ll be starting in just a few minutes. Events_Moderator: OK everyone, here we go! Let’s all welcome Lisa to this Lycos Live Event. Hi Lisa, how’s it going? Lisa_Lopes: Great! radgabrielle: I heard that you are married. Is that true? Lisa_Lopes: I’m not married. {laughs} glitter177: Have you seen any good movies lately? Lisa_Lopes: Can’t say that I have! I haven’t been out much. shawnqt2: Do you feel that in the wake of the World Trade Center tragedy, people will understand the positive vibe on your album more? Lisa_Lopes: That is my hope. lilperson_2: Are you actually recording in the studio with T and C, or just by yourself? Lisa_Lopes: At the moment, with T and C. mishi14: Do you still travel to Honduras often? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Yes, indeed! I’m trying to get back. 😉 fan_male: What about “Chef Eye”? How come you decided to have a cooking show? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Umm . . . Because . . . I must educate our youth in terms of wellbeing through cooking fun, fast healthy delicious meals. left_philly: Will you do a promotion tour in Germany? Lisa_Lopes: Absolutely! As soon as time permits. lefteyefan4ever: Would you ever consider working with Craig David? He’s the bomb and you are the bomb . . . it would be a great explosion in the music industry. Lisa_Lopes: I love Craig David. I just saw him two nights ago in my hotel room. {laughs} I felt like a fan, like I wanted to ask him for his autograph. So that’s a yes! shawnqt2: What did you do when you released your Dad into the stars? Any special ritual? Lisa_Lopes: No, I did on that day what I intend to do for the rest of my life: That’s live, laugh, learn and love. lilperson_2: How has life changed with Snow? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Snow is a mess! She’s beautiful and undeniable. And life has changed very much. lilperson_2: First off, I love all your work, although it took me some time to adjust to Supernova. Do you think most of your fans will have to adjust to this album? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Only the hardcore TLC fans who are hating the fact that any of us would *dare* do a solo project! 😉 naju18: Wazzup Lisa! I got a good question for you girl! If you should re-incarnate, what would you re-incarnate into and why? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Light. Why? So that I could truly see and decide where to go next. shawnqt2: Are you still learning fighting stances like you did in your past videos? Lisa_Lopes: Not at the moment. My brother is a martial arts instructor. His mission {laughs} is to pin me down! tlcfan2: Do you think that TLC will last forever? I do. Lisa_Lopes: Umm . . . well, I would very much hope so! fan_male: I love your album, especially “Head to the Sky” with Blaque. What’s your best song? Lisa_Lopes: “Let Me Live.” tlcavenue: How do you relate the fourth album from the first one? Is it going to be another Left Eye package? Lisa_Lopes: Oh, yes! {laughs} I have created a concept that we all love, so I guess the answer is yes! 😉 Events_Moderator: I know you had some bad press with the whole fire incident. For someone like me who only heard bits and pieces of the story, want to tell us your side of the story? I’m sure it is a sore subject, but I’m interested. Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Yes. Andre and I were having a very *heated* domestic dispute that involved alcohol, hurt, anger, love, compassion and rage. Those elements combined ended in his house going up in flames. But it was not intentional. I barbecued his tennis shoes, and the whole house . . . the whole house went down. xxsupernovaxx: A lot of us have noticed that Supernova isn’t being promoted as well as it should be. When can we expect to see some REAL promotion, what can we as fans do to help, and finally, when are you coming back to cyber TLC world? Lisa_Lopes: Thanks for your concern! I will be visiting cyber-TLC very soon. I feel the same about the promotion of my album, but my angels are tapping me on the shoulder, “Chill, we got this!” bnyam_e: Do you think Arista is supporting Supernova enough? Lisa_Lopes: I think Arista is going through a very large transitional period right now. The company is trying to do what they feel is best, but things are a little slow at the moment. But we are all trying to work together! getupstandup: At what age did you start to figure out that singing is what you wanted to do? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Never! Singing figured it out for me! I was, and still am, open to go into very different areas. ladypmt: Are you planning to do any duets in the near future if so, with whom? Lisa_Lopes: Umm . . . hmm . . . I would love to record an entire album with Andre, an entire album with Natina from Blaque and an entire album with Supernova, the character. tlcfan2: When did you record the song “My Secret Enemy”? You seem quite intense in that song, like it happened right after the incident . . . “got to get a way from the past.” Lisa_Lopes: Dang, you are absolutely right! It happened right after that incident and I was feeling like I needed a way out. getupstandup: Is being famous all it’s really cracked up to be? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} Yes, that and then some! It’s everything you’ve ever imagined, because life is defined by what you believe in. shawnqt2: Do you feel that Salammi will be the next breakout producer? Lisa_Lopes: I’m not too sure if that what’s in his heart, or not. But if that is his intention, he will far exceed many of the great talents. bigl4lisa: Were you a fanatic of anyone growing up? I’m a fanatic of TLC . . . just had to put that in. Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} The biggest impact, fanatic-wise, was Janet Jackson when 1814 came out. Events_Moderator: I hate to say it, but we have to wrap this up in a few minutes. We have time for just a few more questions and comments. c2k_1: Why did Fanmail only have two videos? It had so much potential! Lisa_Lopes: The record company decided that there wasn’t a song that was strong enough to be the third single — outside of “Dear Lie,” which, in fact, we shot a video for. But the video sucked and no one liked it. bizzybahana: What is the status of your clothing line? I hope to buy some stuff? Also, would you ever let fans help out with a design that you would wear:) Lisa_Lopes: {laughs} You are a genius! Just for that question, I am going to put a designers contest on my Web site – http://www.eyenetics.com. sweetpea90028: Do you have any regrets? Lisa_Lopes: Yes. But I try not to think about them. getupstandup: Who was your “idol” as a young person? Lisa_Lopes: The world around me. My sister and brother, my mom, my dad, my pets, my bedroom, my house. The front yard! School . . . etc, etc. 😉 xxsupernovaxx: You’ve been through so much in your life and by the sound of the songs on Supernova, you’ve found peace somehow. What advice can you give to young people who are going through what you already have? Lisa_Lopes: Create faith for yourself away from others. That way, your energy is not being exchanged with someone else’s, causing interference with your true connection with yourself. And then, as soon as you find and discover who you truly are, is when you will begin to experience a peace within yourself. wwl8: If/When you retire from the music industry, how would you want to be remembered? Lisa_Lopes: {laughs) As someone who definately made a change. Events_Moderator: Well folks, it’s time to wrap up the show. Thanks Lisa, we had a really good time chatting with you! We’ll have to do this again sometime. Lisa_Lopes: You’re very welcome! Thank you for chatting with me as well. Please practice in your everyday lives, living, learning, laughing and loving! Yourself, and each other. Until the next time! You can visit me at http://www.eyenetics.com. Events_Moderator: Thanks again for coming everyone. See ya next time at Lycos Live Events.


391 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page