top of page
  • Writer's pictureDimension TLC

Chilli's Middle Child Promotion Interview



I can say with all honesty, MCP has never been harassed for

an interview as much as we have for Chilli's. As a fellow

TLC fan, I know they are loyal, but if the anticipation for this

interview is any indication of what we can expect for her

album, it's going to be crazy! (LOL) Chilli (or Chilli Chill as

I now call her!) has to be one is the coolest, down-to-earth

people you could ever speak with! She wouldn't give me all

the goods on the album we wanted just yet, but she did shed

some light on what we can expect!

- Ced


Chilli: Can I speak to Ceddy Ced?

CED: This is Ceddy Ced. Is this Chilli Chill?

Chilli: Yeah, this is Chilly Chill (laughs) How are you?

CED: I'm great. How are you?

Chilli: I'm doing really good.

CED: Good to hear. Now, let's jump right on in it. What can

you tell us about this album?

Chilli: Well, basically I didn't stray too far away from TLC. I

think I kept all the important topics, you know, young girls

being independent, loving themselves, guys doing the right

thing. I'm real clear when it comes to the kind of stuff.

CED: What is the name of the album?

Chilli: Ummmm...I'm still working on that. I'm getting down

to the last wire (laughs).

CED: When will we know?

Chilli: I can't tell you! (laughing) I say yet. I can't tell you

just yet. I'm still working it out.

CED: Awww man! Well, it was nice talking to ya Chilli....

Chilli: Ooooooh! (laughing)

CED: (laughing) Well, even though you don't how many

songs are we going to get on the album?

Chilli: Well, ummm I just finished a song featuring T-Boz,

and then I have one more song to record and I'm done.

CED: What label are you on?

Chilli: Well actually Missy Elliot and myself are working

together and basically trying to choose. Unfortunately these

days you don't have a lot of choices with how the record

industry is, so we're going to try to narrow it down and see

where we want to go, who gives us the best deal.

CED: Speaking of Missy, isn't she a co-executive producer

on your album?

Chilli: She is executive producing with me...

CED: Who else did you work with?

Chilli: I worked with a couple of Missy's producers, ummm I

worked with Rico Lumpkin who's worked with TLC in the

past. Ummm who else?! Oh this guy named Polo, Maestro...a

lot of up-and-coming producers. I kinda wanted it to be that

way because I wanted something fresh. I didn't want

something that's been laying around, I wanted all new song.

Something from scratch!

CED: No leftovers!

Chilli: No leftovers baby! (laughs)

CED: Coming out with an album is nothing new for you, but

since you're coming out solo this, are you nervous about it

or...

Chilli: Yeahhhhh! (laughs) Yes, Lord. I mean, I was always

nervous when TLC was about to come out, and ya know,

nothing has changed. I'm really nervous about it, but, I think

if wasn't nervous that would be a problem.

CED: Even though you're still recording do you have an idea

what the debut single is going to be?

Chilli: Yeah I do.

CED: Can you say?

Chilli: (laughing)

CED: Ok...do you want to say?! (laughing)

Chilli: I...

CED: ...ok! You're over there hesitating! Come on Chilli

Chill! (laughing) I won't tell anybody!

Chilli: (laughing) I...I do think I have the first single. Yeah, I

have it. Yeah I do.

CED: Well since you don't want to tell me the name, can you

say when we're going to get to hear it?

Chilli: It will be in the Spring. I don't have the exact date yet,

but the single will be out in the Spring.

CED: OK cool! I know it's going to be upbeat...

Chilli: Yeah of course! I dance, so I gotta have a lot of upbeat

songs.

CED: On the Fanmail Tour you had the chance to do your

own solo time, but are you anticipating being on stage and on

tour alone?

Chilli: You know what? I think timing is everything, and I

just feel like, you know God works it all out the way it's

supposed to, and I feel this is my time to come out. So, now

I'm just looking forward to coming out and I'm definitely

looking forward to touring. That's the best part for me.

CED: The album was supposed to come out around '02. What

happened?

Chilli: Yeah I was gonna start working on it, and that was

around the time Lisa was off doing her own thing and I

wanted to continue to work. It was funny because when I

started to get songs together...I don't know. I just called LA

and I was like, it's not time yet, and we're supposed to do

another TLC album, can you get in touch with Lisa and get a

meeting...it just never happened. So he was like," ok". Then

that's when we went into recording 3D.

CED: Did you collaborate with any artists besides T-Boz?

Chilli: Just Missy.

CED: It was rumored you did a song called, "Wishful

Thinking" with Rodney Jerkins and Santana. Is that true?

Chilli: No. With Rodney?! He didn't do that song.

CED: As far as promotion, are there any appearances on TV,

in magazines, etc. in the works?

Chilli: Oh yeah. I'm definitely going to do some TV shows,

and get everything lined for magazine...I'm gonna do

everything! I'm not going to over saturate myself to

everybody is like, "She need ta sat down!" For me really, I'm

more excited about meeting the fans. Of course, those my

age, but I'm really excited about the younger ones, because

these days it's like, parents are looking to television to raise

their kids. They aren't really parenting their children, and the

one thing about it that the young girls really don't have any

true models anymore because everybody is showing their

butts and half naked almost. It's like TLC never represented

that. I don't represent that. To me it's about being natural, and

you can glam it up every now and then, but who lives like

that everyday? I'm really trying to give back my community

and not just my community but to ALL, ya know what I

mean? To all young girls. I can't wait to get out and talk to

these young boys and talk some sense in their heads, and if I

can just reach...two, then I did my job. You know what I

mean? So that part is really important to me. I know a lot of

artists have said they aren't role models, but the position that

we are in, we really are role models, and that's important to

me especially now that I'm a mom.

CED: As far as TLC, what's going on? Now that you're doing

your thing is TLC "over" or are you going to come after your

solo projects are complete or...what's

up?

Chilli: Oh! TLC is never over. As long as T-Boz and Chilli

live on this earth, TLC lives on! Even after we are gone on to

heaven you know what I mean? She and I will definitely do

another TLC album together, and it's funny because we're

having meeting about TV shows because after our show, a lot

of people want to do stuff with us now.

CED: What kind of shows are we talking about? Comedy?

Drama? A reality show?

Chilli: No, not a reality show. More like a half-hour comedy.

CED: I can see y'all doing comedy!

Chilli: (laughing) Yeah, you know...we crazy.

CED: Why wasn't the TLC Greatest Hits album released here

in the States?

Chilli: You know what unfortunately, when LA lost his job

and all the companies starting merging together, it was just a

big mess. I think we just kinda got lost in sauce there. So, we

did the reality show, and we were wanting to put the Greatest

Hits out after the show, you know for everybody, and the guy

who works at the label that we were at, I don't want to say his

name but he's an idiot! A real idiot. He's a real idiot because

we had a lot of people tuning in every week, and the theme

song for the show was the certain single that was going to be

on the album, It's like y'all this is free promotion. Are you

retarded or what?! I mean I, it was like, just...UGHHH. I was

just so upset over that whole thing.

CED: I bet! That would have been a perfect time to put that

out. That was just a crazy move. Well, anyway do you keep

in touch with people from the show?

Chilli: O'So Krispie yeah.

CED: How is O'So doing?

Chilli: She is doing good. She is the sweetest thing. She

called me the other day. She working on her solo album, so

we keep in touch with her.

CED: So who is Chilly Chill listening to right now?

Chilli: Sean Paul

CED: Oh yeahhh (singing) "I wanna be keepin' you warm I

got the right temperature..."

Chilli: (laughing) You are crazy. Umm, oh Jamie Foxx. I

haven't picked his up yet, so I gotta go get that. I heard some

of his songs before the album came out so, I gotta go pick

that up. I think that's about it...OH! Michael Jackson of

course!

CED: Of course Michael has to stay in rotation!

Chilli: Everybody know 'bout Michael Jackson! We're going

to get married one day! One day! I'm tellin' you! (laughing)

CED: So when you aren't out on the road, and in the studio,

what does the future Mrs. Chilli Jackson like to do when

she's relaxing?

Chilli: (laughing) I love to cook.

CED: What do you like to cook?

Chilli: Soul food! And I bake.

CED: So you hookin' up the macaroni and cheese, and sweet

potato pie, and black eye peas and stuff?

Chilli: Oh yeah, and sour cream pound cake, cobblers...you

know those things.

CED: So what are you going to be up between now and when

it's time to really get back to work?

Chilli: You know what, I said to myself I'm going to have to

stay low and stay in shape until it's time to come out. That

and I'll be working on wrapping things up because once I'm

out there, I'm out there and doing my thing.

CED: Have you thought about doing any projects outside of

music? Doing more acting?

Chilli: Well, I'm definitely not interested in movies because I

don't like to be away like that. I ain't gon' lie, I never had to

leave Atlanta, Georgia I'd be alright with that! I mean, I'm

such a southern girl. I'm just like, "Oh man I have to go out

of town again?!", but I do it, and it's cool because it's my job,

but I don't really like traveling that much, unless we going to

an island or something! You know if we got to Mexico or

something like because I love hot weather.

CED: When you start doing your touring are you planning on

doing some things overseas?

Chilli: Absolutely. Like Japan. Ummm...

CED: Oh yeah Japan is like a major spot for TLC right?

Chilli: Oh yeah. They love TLC. They show us so much

love. I mean when I tell you, you're going to hear about me

in, I don't know...in Alaska or something! (laughing)

CED: Chilli chillin' with the Eskimos!

Chilli: I know! (laughing) Dancin' on the ice! Yep, so I'm

looking forward to going to different places we weren't able

to go as a group and some of that had to do with T-Boz's

illness, it wasn't worth her going into a crisis.

CED: Unfortunately, these days it seems like everybody out

of put up against somebody else. Who can you see them

putting you up against to "compete" with?

Chilli: Well, I don't ever look at stuff like that because, you

know... Well I guess what I don't understand is we only do

that in the black community. Like we're always replacing

each other, but in the white community Britney Spears and

Christina Aguilera can come out and you're not really

comparing them, but one can be just as big as the other, but

in our community it's only one at a time, and it's that one for

a long time. As soon as you chill out or they get tired of you,

they choose someone else. You know what I'm saying? I

definitely don't get caught up in it. My competition to

me...we always looked at boys as

competition. Like I don't look at girls as competition. I'm

like, "girl do yo' thing", but let it be a boy...I'm like "come on

with it!" That's how I look at it!

CED: (laughing) Who would you like to work with that you

have never worked with before?

Chilli: MJ. Oh man! That's it!

CED: So when y'all do work together it's just going to be

over!

Chilli: I don't know...I don't know I'll probably pass out. I

don't know if I'll be able to make the whole session. They'll

be like, "Chilli's on the floor!" (laughing)

CED: Oh no! (laughing) Well, I gotta tell you that some of

these questions came directly from some of your biggest fans

from the fansite, CyberTLC...

Chilli: Yeahhhh, I've been to that site before. Oh my God!

CED: (laughing) Yeah, that site and also ChiliFan.com. A big

fan of yours named Zay runs that site. They all wanted me to

tell you hello and they love ya and they

can't wait to hear from you!

Chilli: Yeah, well tell them that I love 'em! And you tell Zay

a special shout out, and I love you, and...oh my God. Fans are

the best!

CED: I'll make sure to do that for you. It was a lot of fun

talking to you Chilli Chill! Thanks for calling, and you're still

going to call me back when the single is getting ready to drop

right?!

Chilli: You're welcome Ceddy Ced, and I sure will!

CED: Aiight! Talk to you then! Bye.

Chilli: Bye!

93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page