top of page
  • Writer's pictureDimension TLC

BRANDI'S middle Child Promotions Interview


Brandi D. Williams has been destined to become an

entertainment icon from the day she was born. Brandi entered

the world in Detroit, the birthplace of Urban Musical

Greatness. Brandi also entered the world of as a member of a

Musical Royal Family which included Uncle Smokey

Robinson, Maternal Grandfather Bobby Rogers of The

Miracles, and Aunts Cherelle (1980’s hit-making Recording

Artist), Marvette Britto (New York Publicist) and Pebbles


(1980’s hit-making Recording Artist and founder of Multi-

Platinum group TLC).


Brandi began singing at the tender age of 3 years old in

Detroit. By 10, Brandi relocated to Atlanta, Georgia. By 14,

Brandi was pursued to be a part of a new Female Singing

Group, Blaque. By 15, Brandi was a part of Blaque and

offered a Recording Contract by Tommy Mattolla at

Columbia Records. Two years later, the group had released a


slew of Top Ten Hit Singles and sold Millions of their self-

titled Debut Album around the world. By 19, Brandi was


already a respected lead singer of a globally famous and

successful Recording Artist Group and had also co-starred in

Two Major Motion Pictures, Bring It On and On The Line (of

which she was requested to record the Soundtrack’s Feature

Singles for both as well, in addition to the hit movie Honey).

By 20, Brandi was a success in the eyes of the world, having

sold millions of albums, been Nominated for and Won

Awards and toured the globe performing...but she personally

felt like it was only the beginning of the goals she set for

herself.


Within a two year period, the group she was a founding

member of had decided to take a hiatus and Brandi began to

focus on honing her skills as a lyricist which lead to the

encouragement of everyone surrounding her to pursue a Solo

Recording Artist Career. Brandi began recording tracks and

founded her own Production Company over the last year and

reconnected with Veteran Talent Manager Carlo J. Farina.

Brandi has been recording to prepare for her Debut Album,

signing Recording Artists to her Production Company (Toon

Town Productions) and reviewing film scripts to decide

which role to accept next.


Most recently Brandi also connected with friend and fellow

Recording Artist Nelly. Nelly pursued Brandi to record with

him what became the enormous hit single “GRILLZ” (also

with Paul Wall, Ali and Gipp) in November 2005. Brandi was

not given credit publicly for being a part of the track, which

created the nationwide controversy on radio stations and

internet chat rooms among the general public as everyone

wondered “who is that girl” singing the catchy part of the

song, which was later revealed to be Brandi by her loyal fans.

Brandi D. Williams’ Solo Debut album and launch is


expected to commence in mid-2006. Brandi is preparing to

captivate the attention of the worldwide audience with her

captivating blended R&B; and Hip-Pop musical style and

fashion sense that will undoubtedly set trends around the

globe.


MiddleChild got a chance to speak with Brandi about her

future plans, her current success, and what her fans can

expect from her this year.

MiddleChild: What's up Brandi?

Brandi: Hi. How are you?

MiddleChild: I'm good. I just wanted to speak with you

about some of your upcoming plans and what's going on

with you right now.

Brandi: Ok.

MiddleChild: So what can you tell your fans about your

solo project?

Brandi: Well I can tell them that it's going to be a

wonderful album. I'm very excited about my first solo

album. It's something that I've been wanting to do for a

long time and I finally have the opportunity and the

courage (laughs) to just do my thing and try to make the

best album I can make! So, I'm hoping that they're (the

fans) looking forward to what I have to offer.

MiddleChild: What vibe are you going for on your solo

venture? How would you classify your sound?

Brandi: My sound I would have to say is still very fresh,

still new. Still young with a Hip-Hop, R&B; Pop type edge

to it, as well. I hope they (the fans) look at it as something

fresh and young, but still mature because I'm 23 now.

(both laugh) It's gonna be a little more mature than the

previous Blaque stuff that they would think about.I'm

getting older.

MiddleChild: Well that's a good thing. Can you tell me

about what producers you're working with?

Brandi: Well, I started working with the producers

named The Platinum Brothers, here in Atlanta, Georgia.


We're actually in the works of getting some new up-n-

coming producers as well as some heavy hitters that are


out there doing their thing. But right now we're in the

midst of picking producers and picking songs. I did start

with The Platinum Brothers here in Atlanta though.

MiddleChild: That's cool. Now, we can currently see you

and hear you featured on Nelly's number one hit

"Grillz". Congratulations on that!

Brandi: Thank you.

MiddleChild: How did that come about?

Brandi: Well I've been knowing Nelly for a few years.

We're friends and everything and he was here in Atlanta

at JD's studio. I mean, at like 1:00 in the morning

(laughs) He was like "B, I need you to come down and do

this song" and I was like "What?". He said "Yo, I need

you to come to the studio. To JD's studio. We doing this

record and it's crazy and I need your voice on it." So I

said "Are your for real", because I thought he was joking,

because he is a jokester. I thought he was playing. So I

was like "Are you for real" and he was like "Yeah...I need

you on this record." So I got into my car at like 1:30 in

the morning, drove down to So SO Def Studios...heard the

track and it was amazing! He was telling me that he was

trying to get Paul Wall on it and I thought "that's

incredible". The fact that they are talking 'bout grillz,

which was hot. To me, I thought it was going to be his new

"Air Force Ones". I thought it was going to be big...if not

bigger and I would love to be a part of that! I thought it

was amazing and I was honored that he even thought of

me to do it.

MiddleChild: Well because of you I went and bought me

a grill. How bout that? (both laugh)

Brandi: That's good. (laughing) That's great.

MiddleChild:(laughs) Yep. Well there is controversy

surrounding the song also for the simple fact that radio

and the video is not crediting you on the song. Is there

any real reason why they are not giving you credit for

your vocals?

Brandi: I don't know...I really don't have that answer. I

really don't know! We've (My Manager and I) been going

back and forth for a minute (with Nelly's people / label)

about it to see what really happened and why I didn't get

credit for it. Because, you know. I feel I should just like

everyone else, but...It's cool...People still know it's me and

I'm excited that people recognize. Like yesterday, I was in

the grocery store at about 12 at night and this guy was

like "You're the girl from 'Grillz'. You're Brandi." So

people still know it's me. They recognize me. I'm happy

knowing that it was my first number one record. I'm just

excited to have been a part of it. I wish I could've been

recognized like everyone else, but you have to take the

good with the bad and I'm thankful and blesssed that I

had something to do with the song.

MiddleChild: So you have spoken out about it?

Brandi: No, No...I don't feel that I need to do that. People

know that it's me and I'm happy that I was a part of it. I

don't think that I need to go and do something crazy and

it become drama. Like I said, I'm just happy to be a part

of it.

MiddleChild: Ok. Well let me say, it's just good to see and

hear you again. Have you been recording with any other

artists?

Brandi: Actually, we have some suprise guests that are

supposed to be on my new and upcoming album.

(laughing) I'm excited about that! But as far as all that,

I've just been in the studio doing my thing and trying to

get my album right. We got a few major suprises though

for the album.

MiddleChild: Have you been writing?

Brandi: Yea. I've been writing like crazy. This will be my

first time really being serious as a writer. I wrote a few

things here and there for the Blaque albums, for different

soundtracks and things like that, but I am really starting

to get myself into being a writer and I am having a lot of

fun with that. I'm suprising myself with some of the songs

I'm coming up with and the melodies too. So yes, I enjoy

writing and I'm loving it right now.

MiddleChild: Well that's cool. I can't wait to hear it. We

all know that you come from a very musical family. Did

they give you any advice as far as your career goes?

Brandi: Yes. I come from a crazy, crazy big "family"

thats been around. My father is a producer and was in a

group back in the day. My Aunt Cherelle and also My

grandfather, who was in "The Miracles" and also mu

cousin Smokey Robinson. So every once in a while when I

get to see them...like, my Aunt Cherelle actually lives in

Atlanta so I get to see her alot. She always tells me to

make sure I just stay true to myself and stay focused and

believe in myself. My father always tells me...his favorite

words are "Brandi, just be humble and sweet and they'll

love you regardless." (both laugh) My Aunt Pebbles used

to always tell me to stay focused. Aunt Pebbles will say,

"This business can be hard, but if I love it then I won't

give it up". I haven't yet because I love it so much! My

grandfather too is just so proud of me...just to see that I

can do my thing and still be in it from the age of 16 and

now I'm 23 and still doing my thing. They're very proud

of me like I am of them.

MiddleChild: I think we all are for real. You have some

very loyal fans that have stuck with you through the thick

and thin. What do you think has been the hardest thing

you have had to face in your career so far?

Brandi: The hardest thing. Ok, I'm gonna have to be

brutally honest. The hardest thing would have to be going

through the transition with Blaque and then going from

Blaque to now Solo. It's scary! I'm used to having two

girls with me. I look to my left, I look to my right, I got

somebody with me. This has been a little more difficult,

cuz it's just me. You know though, I just have to believe in

myself and to be confident but it can be hard. I'm so used

to having Shamari and Natina right there with me...but I

am ready now. Like "Grillz" was my first Solo record...so

like when I did the video for that, I was thinking "Oh my

Goodness. I'm scared, cuz I never did a video by myself".

(laughs) So, I called Shamari and Natina and I was like

"Please come to the video shoot". It was difficult, but I'm

learning how to do it on my own. It's been a fun ride so

far. I got a great record out of it that I am proud of

doing...I got "Grillz" out of it. It's crazy that my first

record coming out as a solo artist went number one, so

hopefully we can only keep going up from there.

Hopefully my very own first single from my album will do

the same. So that's basically been the hardest thing...just

going from a three girl group to now everything being all

on me. But I'm loving it and ready for it and very excited

about it!

MiddleChild: Well your fans gonna hold you down no

doubt. Do you have any idea when you will be giving us a

single?

Brandi: We're (Brandi and Brandi's Manager) shooting

for hopefully this Summer. But you never know.(laughs)

Record Labels and the timing and everything else has to

be right. But, thats what we're shooting for...this summer.

MiddleChild: And are you currently signed to a label?

Brandi: Actually we're in the process of negotiating.

We're looking at a few deals right now, so we got a few

things on the table. Any minute now.

MiddleChild: Well we looking out for you. I always gotta

represent for you. You know, you and your group mates.

We as fans were real upset about the situation and not

getting the releases of "Blaque Out" and "Torch". We're

still here pushing for you and you best believe I got your

back.

Brandi: Thank you. I appreciate it so much!

MiddleChild: No problem. Before I let you go, can you

give us an update on Natina. We know she gave birth to a

little boy awhile back. How is she?

Brandi: Oh yes, She is doing wonderful! He is actually

three. He'll be four next month.(laughs) His name is Trin,

my little nephew. He's beautiful. A beautiful boy. She's

doing really well. She's actually here in Atlanta working

on some things. Just her and Trin. (laughs)

MiddleChild: Well I'm sure everyone will be happy to

know that as well. Like I said, we're pushing for you and

we will be on the look out for you later this year.

Brandi: Thank you. I really appreciate it.

MiddleChild: Thank you. You have a good day.

Brandi: Ok. You too and thanks again!

62 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page